No-Bake Chocolate Nutella Oatmeal Cookies

If you didn’t already know, I am an ovenless world traveler.
This creates an issue for bakeaholics like myself.

On the bright side, my eyes have been opened to the world of
NO-BAKE DESSERTS!

IMG_8395

I made my own European version of puppy chow for my marketing presentation last week. Without an oven. And they were incredible.  They also saved my butt when the “white screen of death” on my Macbook forced me to present my 2-hour lesson with no notes and no powerpoint.

IMG_8385

BUT it wasn’t just the puppy chow that saved my grade – I also brought a batch of no-bake Nutella oatmeal cookies with me!

The first time I made them, they were extremely unhealthy…
But the second time, I used almond milk, stevia and a dairy-free hazelnut spread to Taylor-ify the recipe.  It was gluten free, lactose free and (mostly) sugar free. The healthy ones were just as good if not better, in my opinion.

IMG_8392

INGREDIENTS
-1 stick of butter
-1/2 cup of milk
-1.5 cups of sugar
-1/2 cup of cocoa powder
-4 cups of quick oats
-2 tbs (I just used a large spoon…) of vanilla
-1/2 a cup of Nutella (plus some)

**DISCLAIMER**
I don’t have any measuring cups or spoons in the Netherlands, so these are VERY rough estimates based on my prior baking experience. I eyeballed everything then assumed these were close measurements.

IMG_8370

STEP 1 – Melt and combine the butter, milk, sugar and cocoa in a pot until it boils for a minute or so.

STEP 2 – Take the pot off of the stove and stir in the oats, vanilla and Nutella.

STEP 3 – Drop spoonfulls of the dough onto anything… I didn’t have waxpaper, so I just used a cutting board. (Foreign dorm room problems)

They cool in about 30 minutes to an hour. Once I was feeling impatient, so I stuck them in a fridge to solidify faster. Bad idea. They just got sticky and never turned into a cookie consistency. Patience pays off with these guys!!

IMG_8393

Enjoy my makeshift dorm cookies. My friends sure did.
(I sold the extras for 20 cents a piece to make up for what I spent on ingredients.)
Hi Greg.

IMG_8442

-Tay

Leave me a comment here

