Dutch Puppy Chow

I live in a tiny dorm. In The Netherlands. With no oven.
As you can imagine, when it comes to baking, this complicates things.

IMG_8389

My two-hour marketing presentation last week was mainly about Nutella, so naturally I wanted to bake something with Nutella in it as a little treat for the class. …But with no oven, I didn’t really know how to make this happen, so I ran straight to the man with all the answers: Google.

IMG_8361

“No-bake Nutella desserts” actually gave me hundreds of ideas, one of which was Puppy Chow.

IMG_8362

After excitedly walking to my local grocery store with an ingredient list in hand, it didn’t take me long to realize that Chex Mix and chocolate chips are foreign concepts to the Dutch. When I asked where to find them, people looked at me like I was an alien. I haven’t received so many strange stares since the time I walked into a European nail salon with no appointment. Needless to say, the rest of the products were written in Dutch, so I just winged it.

IMG_8363

INGREDIENTS
-A box of some Dutch version of Cheerios (improvising due to the lack of Chex Mix)
-1 cup Nutella
-1/4 cup butter
-A pack of some form of chocolate that resembled chocolate chips
(found on the candy aisle next to chocolate-covered raisins and chewing gum)
I used 250 grams (about 1 cup)
-1 cup (or less) powdered sugar

IMG_8364

**DISCLAIMER**
Between my attempt to use the metric system & my lack of measuring cups,
it’s safe to say that I played a big game of guess-and-check with the measurements.

IMG_8365

STEP 1 – Mix Nutella, butter and chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl
STEP 2 – Microwave in 30 second intervals until melted
STEP 3 – Pour the Cheerios into the bowl of chocolate-hazelnut heaven.
(Don’t pour them all in at once. Trust me. I learned the hard way.)
STEP 4 – Pour the powdered sugar into a big bag
STEP 5 – Dump the cereal/chocolate mix into the bag.
STEP 6 – Shake it all together and EAT!

IMG_8368

This recipe may or may not have saved me from failing my presentation.
I pulled an all-nighter to make a beautiful powerpoint, and as I was opening it on my computer in class, I experienced “The white screen of death” for the first time.

IMG_8391

Needless to say, I had no powerpoint or notes, just my baked goods. And that was enough.

IMG_8385

I hope you enjoy my Dutch-version of puppy chow! I know my class sure did.
(I may or may not be eating the leftovers as we speak. It’s my first taste of homemade American food in six weeks.)

-Tay

2 thoughts on “Dutch Puppy Chow

  1. Pingback: No-Bake Chocolate Nutella Oatmeal Cookies | Recycled Junk

  2. I am sooo gonna make these 🙂 And the Bugs on a Log. that is the cutest.. 🙂 I will have some happy kids faces this weekend.. 😉

Leave me a comment here

