Stroop Waffles & Swiss Cocoa

Stroop Waffles & Swiss Cocoa
…or should I say…
stroopwafels & chocolat suisse

IMG_8191

In case you didn’t know, I am studying abroad in the Netherlands for the semester.
I touched European soil on August 24, and I won’t be home until November 22.

As I was sitting at my desk with no plans or homework for the first time all month,
it hit me that I hadn’t had a chance to blog …at all… in a month.
When I realized this, I was sipping on hot chocolate from Switzerland and snacking on stroopwafels from Holland.
So obviously it made me want to blog about it.

IMG_8193

What are stroopwafles?
“Stroop” is Dutch for syrup.
“Wafles” is Dutch for waffles.
“Glutenvrij” is Dutch for gluten free.
GLUTEN FREE SYRUP WAFFLES.

IMG_8197

Heaven in a cookie. Seriously though.
Imagine caramel syrup smashed between two soft wafers…
Then imagine the warmth of the hot chocolate melting the caramel into the wafers…

It’s incredible.

IMG_8198

Stroopwafels are the perfect study snack.
They taste AMAZING with coffee, hot chocolate, cappuccinos, you name it.
I melt them over my coffee to make the caramel soft, OR I pull a dunk n’ donuts.
You can even just eat them straight, with almond butter, or with dark chocolate.
There really is no way to mess them up.
…well I mean it might taste funky dipped in coke or something…

IMG_8187

Then there’s my “Chocolat Suisse”
I bought some instant hot cocoa packets in Switzerland, and I mix them with almond milk over the stove. It’s perfection in a cup. This hot cocoa mixed with the cool Holland air blowing through my window tastes, smells and feels like the holiday season.

It’s magical.

IMG_6291

Well, that’s that.
I just wanted to say that I’m out of the country, I have TONS to blog about, and I have NO time to blog.
Hopefully I’ll be able to post some recipes, crafts & random food-finds soon.

Vaarwel vrienden. Ik spreek je snel!
(Goodbye friends! Talk to you soon!)
My Dutch is slowly, but surely, improving.

Sincerely, your world traveler.

-Tay

Leave me a comment here

