Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chick-a chick-a boom boom
I’ve got chickpeas in my food food

IMG_3653-2

In case you don’t know what chickpeas are, they are also known as
1. garbanzo beans
2. the weird tan ball things in salad bars
3. the stuff you use to make hummus
4. they have no relation to chickens whatsoever

images

I finally caved.
People have been talking, pinning, and raving about “chickpea cookies.”
Yet I refused to hop on this strange, bean-filled-cookie bandwagon.
I guess you can call me a hipster. But just this once.
One day, the beautiful and talented author of ahealthyhandful.blogspot.com and her mom sent me home with a batch.
…and I ate literally all of them before I got back to my house…

IMG_3621-2

I didn’t have all of the ingredients Blair uses, so I made an adapted version with what I had at home.
(I use random, leftover things and turn them into something… in case you forgot.)
GLUTEN FREE – SOY FREE – DAIRY FREE – SUGAR FREE

IMG_3615-2

INGREDIENTS
-1 (15oz) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
-2 tsp vanilla
-1/2 cup almond butter (I used a little less b/c I was almost out)
-1/4 cup zero calorie all natural plant sweetener
-5ish small squirts of liquid stevia or to taste
-1 tsp baking powder
-pinch of salt
-1/2 cup chocolate or carob chips
(I used Enjoy Life mini choco chips today, but I’m a fan of unsweetened carob)

IMG_3628-2

STEP 1 – Preheat oven to 350
STEP 2 – Mix everything together except for the chocolate.
I would use a food processor. Or a hand mixer. Speaking of those two kitchen staples, both of mine broke. So I used the classic “stir with a fork” method.
STEP 3 – Stir in chocolate
STEP 4 – Drop on a cookie sheet, and bake for 13-15 minutes!
STEP 5 – Take too many pictures of your final product to post on your blog before devouring all of them in a matter of minutes.

IMG_3636-2

I really do think I set a world record for fastest time to make twelve cookies disappear. I justified eating the entire batch due to the amount of physical effort it took to mash and stir that entire recipe together with a small fork…

IMG_3631-2

These “cookies” are really not cookies.
They are LOADED with healthy fats (chickpeas & almond butter).
They have NO sugar if you substitute unsweetened carob chips for chocolate chips.
And they pack a solid 5 grams of protein a piece!

Doesn’t get better than this.

IMG_3624-2

Special thanks to Blair for making me fall in love with chickpea cookies.
My new staple.

Is it bad that I eat these as a meal…?
I mean it IS 1000x better for me than the dollar menu.

mcdonalds-cheeseburger-500x375

 NOM NOM NOM I LOVE CHICKPEAS.

-Tay

Leave me a comment here

