Chevron Paper Bags

Every Wednesday for about two months, I got to spoil my twin littles with everything you can imagine…
from food to clothes to crafts to sonic… everything.
I loved it.
IMG_8057

In one of the baskets, I bought some smaller items at an adorable independent shop called Hearts ‘N Crafts.
I was afraid that the little gifts would get lost somewhere in the big baskets,
so I decided to separate them by making DIY chevron Pi Phi themed bags!

IMG_7890

For some strange reason, I have about 100 brown bags sitting in craft storage box… I have no clue where they came from, and, for that matter, I don’t care where they came from. BUT I am thankful for them at times like this! I can use them for anything and everything. Did I mention that they are super easy to paint??

IMG_7892SUPPLIES
-Brown bag
-Pencil, eraser, ruler
-Paint and brushes

IMG_7893
STEP 1 –
 Take off the handles (if possible)
then draw a grid using a pencil and ruler making each square 1″ wide and long

STEP 2 – Draw lines diagonally across the boxes using the ruler
I did mine by drawing lines angling up all the way down the first column. (That makes sense in my head… but I don’t know if you’ll know what I’m talking about haha.) You’ll start to see the chevron pattern forming, and if you don’t, then just try to copy the pattern in my pictures!

IMG_7894

STEP 3 – Erase the vertical and horizontal lines until the only lines left are the zigzag lines

STEP 4 – Pain the first row with one color…then paint the second row with the other color.
I like to use the lighter color first because it is easier to cover up the light mistakes with the darker paint. Also, it helps you get the hang of painting the pattern before you use the darker color, so you’re a little more confident and less likely to mess it up! …or at least that’s how I feel!

STEP 5 – Let it dry, and put the handles back on the bag

IMG_7895

Making DIY chevron bags is an extremely easy project! I wanted to add their names in blue across the front of the bag,
but homework and sleep were calling my name… typical.

You can use this pattern on any bag with any color combo! It would be cute to use a third color to border the chevron lines, too! I had so many ideas for these things… so get creative!! You no longer have to buy $3 bags for birthday gifts, graduation presents, or just-for-fun treats!

If you’re anything like me, then you like to make what you give, and this is just one of many ways to add a homemade, DIY touch to anything.

IMG_7896

Lulu says hi.

Leave me a comment here

