Broccoli and Cheese Penne

Being gluten free and all, pasta is a rare commodity.
Rare, I tell you.
Especially when you live in the middle of nowhere, Texas.
(I really do love Waco though)

Anyway.
I discovered a place called Drug Emporium last weekend
thanks to the one and only Emily Warren!
…I’m obsessed with this girl & her blog

Drug Emporium has an ENTIRE SECTION of “Taylor” foods!
This place saved my life.
No more trips to Austin or Dallas for flour, xylitol, and noodles.

After buying noodles, I went home and found left over broccoli
(I buy chopped broccoli to dip into my hummus)
and left over cheese from a previous dish!!
……..so OBVIOUSLY I decided to create a broccoli & cheese pasta dish.

INGREDIENTS:
-2 Qt. Water
-4 oz Pene Pasta (or gf noodle of choice)
-2 c Broccoli, chopped
-1/2 c Italian Five Cheese (or vegan cheese of choice)
-1 Tbs Olive Oil
-Salt & Pepper to taste

STEP 1 – Boil 2 quarts of (lightly salted) water over stove
STEP 2 – Once boiling, add broccoli & pasta.
Wait for the water to boil again, then cook according to pasta package directions
(5-7 minutes), stirring occasionally.
DO NOT OVERCOOK THE NOODLES.
STEP 3 – Pour everything into a strainer
then rinse with coldwater
STEP 4 – Put everything back into the pot,
and add olive oil (this keeps the noodles from sticking together).
STEP 5 – Stir in the cheese (or vegan option)
This is my favorite step
The cheese melts into the noodles and broccoli due to the heat from cooking
STEP 6 – Add salt & pepper to taste

This whole thing makes about two servings,
but I ate it all by myself.
(My roommates were gone…. I had no choice).

Seriously soooo easy & soooo delicious.
I posted an instagram of this dish after I made it, and it got like tons of likes.
People will think you’re like a professional cook…..
or like a future house wife.

Lulu likes to help me study for Spanish….

Bon appetit!

-Tay

Leave me a comment here

