Dark Chocolate Almond Cookies

I have a MAJOR sweet tooth.
which is exactly why I bake healthy alternatives to the junk I crave.

The best part about inventing recipes is that you can use whatever random ingredients are left over in your pantry!
No need to grocery shop…
just throw things together in a bowl, and hope for the best.
What’s the worst that could happen??
…… besides disgusting cookies.

Whenever I invent a recipe, I start with a tiny portion.
I make enough dough for about six cookies that way I don’t waste too much food.
If the recipe works, then I quadruple the recipe! If not, I trash it.

Anyway. I was craving some Chocolate Chip cookies, and I ended up with a
scrumptious, guiltless, sugar free, gluten free, vegan recipe!
(My little brother thought they were “real” cookies — he’s my toughest critic)

INGREDIENTS:
-2 flax seed “eggs” (1 tbs flax seed + 2 tbs water)
-3/4 cup Xylitol
-1/4 cup Cocoa Powder
-1/4 cup Almond Flour
-1/2 tsp Baking Powder
-A dash of Salt
-4 to 6 oz Vegan Chocolate Chips
-1 cup Almond Butter
-3/4 tsp Vanilla Extract
-1/4 tsp Almond Extract
-1/2 tsp Apple Cider Vinegar
Optional:
-1/4 cup Chopped Almonds
-1/4 cup Unsweetened Shredded Coconut

STEP 1Preheat convection oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

STEP 2Make the flax seed “eggs”
Let them sit until the mixture forms an egg-like consistency

STEP 3Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl
Mix the xylitol, cocoa powder, almond flour, baking soda, chocolate chips
(add coconut and almonds here if using)

STEP 4 – Put wet ingredients in a large bowl
Don’t mix these together….. just measure them and put them in a bowl

STEP 5 – Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients
Stir until combined. The dough is really fudgey and messy!

STEP 6 – Cook for 11-13 minutes depending on how gooey you like them!

THEY ARE HEAVENLY.
This recipe is like the perfect way to satisfy any sugar cravings without being crazy unhealthy.
I mean if you eat like all of the cookies, it’ll probably be a lot of calories…but I ate tons anyway.

Eating these VEGAN, SUGAR FREE, CARB FREE & GLUTEN FREE cookies is WAYYYY more healthy than eating the real stuff!
You’ll get some protein from the almond flour,
fiber and omega 3s from the flax seed,
and some antioxidant flavonoids from the raw cocoa powder!
And these basically taste just like the sugary, fatty cookies.
Seriously though.

“Healthy sweets” are my favorite of foods.
Enjoy.

In other news, I have an adorable dog.

-Tay

5 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Almond Cookies

Leave me a comment here

