DIY Headboard

So I’m in to the whole rustic, painted wood thing…
I love it. Don’t ask me why.

ANNNNYWAY. I finally moved into my Waco home (THE CLOUD), & I needed a headboard.
My bed was literally a mattress on a frame. Gross.

But I was happy that I didn’t have a headboard because it meant I got to get a brand new one!!
……Online every wooden headboard was around $100 at least
which is simply NOT okay. so obviously I started crafting.

Crafting is always better than buying.
Why consume when you can create, right?

MATERIALS:
-Wood: I bought three 1x8x20 planks at home depot,
but you should recycle any old wood you already have!
-Screws: I used 12 of them; 2 for each plank
-Sand paper: I used leftover medium grit and a simple handheld sander
-Stud finder
-Level
-Drill
-Old rags
-Wood stain (I used Minwax Special Walnut to match my desk)

STEP 1 – Cut the wood
My bed is a full, so I cut each plank into two 54″ planks using a hand saw
Hunter (he rocks) helped me cut the wood, and he accidently chipped the corner of one of the boards! ….and it looks awesome!! Don’t be afraid to have fun and mess up! It made me want to chip more corners!


STEP 2 – Sand the wood
Make sure you make it smooth and wipe all the dust off


STEP 3 – Stain the wood
Take old rags and wipe the stain onto the wood. Super easy!
Let it dry. If you want a darker color, then just add a second coat.


STEP 4 – Drill the planks into the wall
Use the stud finder to find the studs (duh)
Then use the level to make sure the planks are straight (also duh)
Then drill the screws into the planks! I put two into each plank
I made mine line up perfectly, but I think it’d be fun to make some longer than others or something!
Get crafty, yall.

STEP 5 – Decorate the headboard!!
Use pillows, DIY bunting, pictures hanging on twine, string lights, etc
Be creative!! This is the fun part.

Super simple, right?! And WAY CHEAPER than purchasing a headboard.
Mine was $30 for wood and $10 for stain.
A $40 rustic headboard.
Best decision ever. Well, maybe not ever, but it was a good one.

**Special shout out to Hunter for all of his help!
If you don’t know how to use things like stud finders, levels, or drill guns, then do not be intimidated!!! Find some help and try something new!
I believe in you.

Get crafting, yall.
Recycle old wood.
Go go go go go go!

-Tay

10 thoughts on “DIY Headboard

  1. Pingback: 14 DIY headboards that will rock your bedroom | Revedecor

  2. HI! Thank you! I’m planning to make this headboard this weekend. What lights did you use? I find that the usualy christmas fairy lights look cheap and I don;t like the shades. Thank you!

  3. Pingback: DIY Headboard - A&D Blog

  4. Pingback: 80 Headboard DIY | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire

  5. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from
    an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not
    sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?

    Appreciate it

    • It’s not tough at all!! The hardest part was getting started and posting to what seemed like literally no one. But it just takes some time, dedication and consistency to build the readership. I would just start with a basic layout and start posting! Over time you can add to the design and develop your blog more and more. Good luck!

  6. Pingback: Diy Headboard With Lights | Furniture | Home Ideas

Leave me a comment here

