Frozen Coffee.

Warning: Poor picture quality and lack of pictures in general.

As you well know, I love coffee.
I love it in all shapes, sizes, and flavors.
…especially when it’s frozen.
No, not iced. Frozen.

Frozen coffee is kind of like a frappuccino? But not.
Starbucks packs loads of calories and sugar into their drinks.
(Don’t be fooled by their “light” marketing shenanigans)
But there’s no reason to be sad about starbucks being suagry because now you can make your own healthy alternative!
…and it won’t cost you $5.00…

Iced coffee is a necessity during Texas summers, which is why I brew a pot of coffee at night, pour it into a pitcher, and stick it in the fridge so it’ll be cool in the morning.
This routine provides me with my morning dose of iced coffee, and I can make fun, frozen coffee drinks!
Try it. Refrigerate your coffee.

GLUTEN FREE, SUGAR FREE, & VEGAN
This little fellow weighs in at 40 calories!
Maybe even less — I round up with calories in case of emergencies.


INGREDIENTS
• 1 cup Cooled Coffee
• ½ cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
• 2 Tbs Raw Cocoa Powder (optional)
• 1-2 tsp Xylitol or Stevia to taste
• 5-10 Ice Cubes (more ice for thicker consistency)

Literally stick the ingredients in the blender, and hit go!
On my vitamix, I use the smoothie setting.
**From experimenting, the consistency is better if you put the powders in first, then the liquid, and then the ice cubes. Don’t ask me why. It’s just better this way.

The above recipe will make you your basic coffee drink.
But if that’s too boring for you, then you’ve got options:

MOCHA: Add cocoa powder and/or melted dark chocolate
COCONUT: Add coconut oil and/or shredded coconut flakes
PEPPERMINT: Add a *tiny* dab of peppermint extract and/or blend peppermints candies into the drink
JAVA CHIP: After making the mocha version, add and blend raw cocoa nibs on a lower power until the nibs are chopped
DOUBLE SHOT: Add extra coffee and blend whole espresso beans into the drink
CINNAMON SWIRL: Add 1 tsp of Cinnamon

*Add vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, white chocolate, or any combination of really anything to this basic recipe. I usually add protein powder, too!

My favorite versions are java chip and double shot.
It’s weird calling my concoctions names……
I literally just named them as I was typing the alternate recipes.

Random fact for non-vegans: Put a spoonful of cottage cheese in my blended drinks.
I know that sounds disgusting, but it’s really not.
You can’t taste it at all, and it mocks the consistency of ice cream!

GET CRAZY.
If you try something unique and not boring, then you should tell me about it.
If you try something mundane and boring, then you should still tell me about it.
…but why be boring when you could be not-boring?
“Not-boring”
I blame any and all poor word choice on the history essays I just wrote.

On that note, enjoy your frozen coffee.
It’s hot outside.

-Tay

3 thoughts on “Frozen Coffee.

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip | Recycled Junk

Leave me a comment here

