Beef Stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff……. 
like what even is that?
I googled stroganoff, and the definition was:

“a dish in which the central ingredient,
typically strips of beef,
is cooked in a sauce containing sour cream”

That definition was hilarious seeing as how
I don’t eat meat. Ever.
It freaks me out a little too much…

BUT it was Father’s Day,
and this is my dad’s favorite meal.
So I cooked Beef Stroganoff.
(It’s on his Wheat Belly diet, too)


My dad came to help me cut the fillet because I hate touching raw meat.
He ended up staying the whole time, which I love! His random stories, advice, & jokes always make my kitchen endeavors more fun.
…He also had a ton of fun trying to style food for my blog pictures hahaha

My family ate this stuff up (no pun intended).
Apparently, we are a stroganoff loving family.
Everyone, grandma included, went for seconds.
My dad went for fifths.
(You think I’m kidding)

INGREDIENTS
• 1 lb Beef (I bought the most tender fillet since it was a special occasion)
• Ground White Pepper & Garlic Salt
• 1 cup Butter
• 7 Green Onions, the white part only
• 10 oz sliced mushrooms
• ½ cup Flour (I used gluten free)
• 2 ½ cups Beef Broth
• 2 tsp Mustard
• 1 cup Sour Cream
• 1 cup Chardonnay
• 1 package of Egg Noodles

STEP 1 – Cut the steak into long, skinny strips then season them with salt and pepper
STEP 2 – In a large skillet, melt the butter, brown the meat, and push the meat to the side
STEP 3 – On other side of skillet, saute the onions and mushrooms
STEP 4 – Remove the steak from the skillet and add the flour (mix the flour thoroughly as it tends to get all lumpy and weird)
**If you are not using a tender cut of meat, keep the meat in the pan**
STEP 5 – Add the broth to the mixture, and bring to a boil, stirring constantly
STEP 6 – Lower the heat and add the mustard, sour cream, and wine
STEP 7 – Add the meat back to the skillet if you removed it after Step 4
STEP 8 – Cover and simmer until meat is tender!
STEP 9 – Cook the noodles according to the package (this took about twelve minutes)
STEP 10– Serve the stroganoff on top of the noodles when you’re ready to eat!

If you are a vegetarian in a carnivorous family, then sides are your way of life.
I seasoned and sauteed asparagus for the family and made myself a single serving of salad!
(The salad was made completely out of random ingredients in my fridge)

Salad:
• Spinach leaves
• Olives
• Artichokes
• Cucumber
• Mushrooms
• Olive Oil

Just toss the ingredients together,
and you have yourself a quick & recycled salad!
Use anything in the fridge.
Salads have no rules.

It was a successful Father’s Day indeed.
Everyone was happy, including the vegetarian.

(I did end up tasting a bit of the stroganoff.. I picked out the steak strips.. it was good..)

This recipe can EASILY be made vegetarian. I want to try switching the steak with artichokes, the beef broth with veggie broth, and the sour cream with greek yogurt. …It sounds disgusting, but most of my ideas typically do… oh well.

Enjoy your STROGANOFF.
If you learned nothing else from this post,
then at least you now know a word that rhymes with Hasselhoff.

-Tay

Leave me a comment here

