Healthy Granola.

Find me a college girl who doesn’t love granola.
Seriously. Try it. They don’t exist.
I’ll send you a button bracelet if you can find one.

Seeing as how I’m a college girl, naturally, I love granola.
Sadly, there was no granola in my house today, which is actually ended up being great news because I had TONS of random ingredients that I somehow turned into the most delectable granola of my life. I love recycling old random foods into something nutritious and delicious.

If you don’t believe that I made the best granola ever,
then try it for yourself.
I dare you.

INGREDIENTS:
• 2 cups Gluten Free Oats
• ½ cup Walnuts
• ½ cup Pecans
• 1 cup Shredded Coconut
• ½ cup Ground Flax Seed
• 2 tsp Stevia (or sugar of choice)
• 3 Tbsp Vegan Protein Powder
• ½ tsp Cinnamon
•1Tbsp vanilla extract
• ¼ cup Oil
• ½ cup honey
• Whatever else you can find!
(raisins, chocolate, etc)

Get creative, folks!
You know you want to.

STEP 1 – Preheat oven to 350 degrees
STEP 2 – Mix oats, nuts, coconut, flax, stevia, protein powder, cinnamon, and any other dry ingredients in a large bowl
STEP 3 – Heat oil and honey on stove until combined into a smooth liquid
STEP 4 – Add vanilla to oil/honey mixture
STEP 5 – Pour liquid mixture into dry mixture, and combine thoroughly
STEP 6 – Spread granola onto a cookie sheet (mine was about ½” thick)
STEP 7 – Bake for 8 minutes, flip, bake for another 5 minutes
Do not over cook!!! It continues to cook after it’s out of the oven.
STEP 8 – Cool the granola! *** Then you can store it, eat it, serve it, throw it…

Sound easy enough??
I’m telling you – this stuff is G O O D.

Literally use whatever you have in your house .
Maple syrup, dried fruit, chocolate, seeds, cereal.
Whatever floats your boat.
… Just promise me one thing —
If you add chocolate, then please don’t cook it.
… Unless you want a melted chocolaty mess instead of granola with chocolate chips.

My ingredients list is based strictly on what I had laying around the kitchen.
As long as you stick with the dry to wet ratio, I don’t see how you could possibly go wrong.

Experiment.
Have fun.
Let loose.
The options are endless.

Feel free to tell me what you think and what you change!!
I loved reading all the comments and emails from previous posts.
You guys rock.

Stay cool. Stay creative. Recycle.
-Tay

FYI: I miss waking up to this beach.

….at least I have some tasty healthy granola?

2 thoughts on “Healthy Granola.

  1. I have no idea what granola is, honest truth. But it’s probably because I’m in the Philippines and we have different food here. Is it a kind of cereal, because I might have been eating it and never known. Do they sell granola at your college, because I’ve never seen them at mine.

    So…do I get a button bracelet?

Leave me a comment here

