Memorial Day.

HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY EVERYONE!

In honor of the men and women who have served this country, I decided to do something patriotic.

My little brother is 13, and with that, he is growing exponentially.
Like he actually grows about an inch a month. It’s almost freaky.
BUT with that, comes jeans that are WAY too short on him.

      That’s where recycling comes in handy.

This DIY project was beyond easy. Too easy.
I didn’t spend a single penny, and I have two brand new shorts.

Materials:

  • Scissors
  • Acrylic paint
  • Tape (I used masking tape)
  • Paint brush or a finger. Take your pick. I used both.
  • Old Jeans

STEP 1 – Tape off the sections that you don’t want to paint

    

 Warning: The tape tangles

      <–Exhibit A



STEP 2 – Paint away!

Don’t even think about coloring inside the lines.
The tape does all the work for you.
I started by taping off where I planned to put red.
Then i painted the white!

After you finish the striping process,
(is striping a word? …it is now).
paint the whole other side solid blue.

STEP 3 – Make a star stamp

I traced a star from my computer,
Cut out the star on felt paper I found in a cabinet,
and painted the bottom of the star.
Once you make the star,

STAMP AWAY!

                         …it’s fun. I promise.

That’s it!
Easy as 1, 2, 3.

Now just let your shorts dry, roll them, chop them, fray them, and do your thing!


I made my flag pair long, and my light pair short.

Duh.

It’s like having the best of both worlds.

You’ve got to love growing little brothers.
You’ve got to love turning junk into usable material.

Enjoy your Memorial Day!
God bless America.

-Tay

One thought on “Memorial Day.

  1. Pingback: Daisy Dukes. | recycledjunk

Leave me a comment here

